23 OCTOBER 2020

Cabinet has agreed to the introduction of a new Visa Scheme, to be called Premium Visa for a period of one year, renewable, to encourage eligible foreigners to come for a long stay in Mauritius, a COVID-safe destination.

The Premium Visa would allow non-citizens from countries listed in the Eighth Schedule of the Passport Regulations to come to Mauritius.

The new visa would target, amongst others, the following categories of noncitizens - (a) repeat tourists who had planned to retire and migrate in Mauritius before the COVID-19 pandemic;
(b) retirees in countries where COVID-19 is putting them at risk and who could be convinced to ride out in a safe destination;
(c) investors/professionals willing to come with their family and carry out their businesses or work remotely from Mauritius or offer their staff this facility; and
(d) those having their children studying in Mauritius.

In order to qualify for the Premium Visa, the visitors must have proof of their long stay plans and sufficient travel and health insurance for the initial period of stay.

The following criteria should also be met:-
(i) applicants should not enter the Mauritius Labour Market;
(ii) the main place of business and source of income and profits should be outside Mauritius;
(iii) documentary evidence to support application such as purpose of visit, accommodation etc.; and
(iv) other basic immigration requirements.

*Non-citizens from countries listed in the Eight Schedule of the Passport Regulations will be eligible for the Premium Visa.
Countries include:
Angola, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burundi, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, China, Congo (Brazaville), Democratic Republic of Congo, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Egypt, Estonia Republic, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guyana, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Kribati, South Korea, Kuwait, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuana, Luxemburg, Macau SAR, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Rwanda, Russian Federation, Samoa (Western), San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovenia, Slovakia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & Grenadines, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Tchad, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Vanuatu, Vatican, Zambia and Zimbabwe.